Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

30,000 steps around London

SATURDAY
London Day 7

I was up at the crack off dawn. Had breakfast and walked over to the Houses of Parliament for the 9:30 am Saturday tour. Although I have spent some time working there with M.P.s in the mid 1980's I still find the halls, lobbies rooms and chambers absolutely fascinating. Whilst I was in the Commons Debating Chamber the M.P. and London Mayoral candidate Zac Goldsmith walked in and had a quick word with the tour group.

On leaving the Houses of Parliament I noticed a gathering in Parliament Square so I went over to have a nosey. Right there just a few feet in front of me were all the main Mayoral Candidates - Zac Goldsmith (extra), Sadique Khan and Caroline Pidgeon together with the writer and broadcaster Gyles Brandreth. They were just about to go on stage to address a rally to oppose the third runway at Heathrow.

Then a journey on the tube and DLR to the Docklands where I took a trip over the Thames on the Emirates cable car. I then had a walk around the O2 arena before catching a bus to Greenwich for a walk round the National Maritime Museum and up to see the Meridian Line at the observatory.

I had a walk round Greenwich Market and took the foot tunnel under the Thames to Island Gardens where I caught the DLR back to Monument. 

I then walked over to Covent Garden to have a look round the James Bond in Motion exhibition and to  get Harriet a present from the Moomins shop.

A final walk through China Town to Trafalgar Square and then the tube back to Pimlico.

A mere 30,005 steps in total. 23 km  recorded on my tracker. 47 flights of stairs. Oh boy, my ankles aren't half aching now.

I wonder where I can go tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.