San Francisco 1997

Foggy day, Angie off to Olching to visit her father and then mother while I collected a (free) large pane of security glass to complete one of the 999 current projects. Then also got a used VHS video recorder as mine I had given up the ghost, the recent jumble sale acquisition had been less than perfect.

Given coying a VHS tape to the PC is in real time it takes around 4 hours per tape. So it's quite good for doing when you have other work - set it up, hit the record button and leave it to get on with the work. In the evening also good to have running while one studies the important local news. For some reason the publishers of Bavaria's equivalent to "Farmers Weekly" sent me a free copy this week. It would be interesting to get it regularly but at around 150 Euros/year a bit too much for the very limited bits that might interest me.

With the up and coming "Martini" day on 11th November and Christmas heralded in the shops, I could check the latest Goose meat prices. Almost all prices are ex-farm or auction but goose is seemingly somewhat marginal and price info restricted to what  endusers are paying at Munichs Viktualien Market - 14 Euros/kg. Seems low to me as i was hoping that was about the live weight price I might get. Perhaps closer to the traditional roast goose days the prices may rise and I can repay the bank overdraft.

Running on the PC as I read farmers Weekly was a video taken in September 1997 of a combined business and holiday trip to San Francisco. To just be seen the wonderful colleague from Franconia, Christian and in the background our great (in several respects) boss Tino. One day I will have to send him a copy. We had a great few days on the "business" side and treated both Angie & I to an unforgetable experience. I wonder if he will spot himself as he pops by on Blip from time to time from his Jacksonville, Florida home and business base.
More of Tino when I get around to back bliping the late 90's but he and his family are in my thoughts most days as on his last visit here he bought me a John Deere baseball cap which I wear most days.when working outdoors.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.