Standing guard

A day inside looking at a computer screen, as I read the agenda papers for next week's Council meeting. Until late in the afternoon, it was a rather drab day, and not very warm. Coinciding with a desperate need to be outside, the clouds left and the sun shone down. Even the wind wasn't a problem as I went for a walk around the Western Springs Lake.

Lots of good photos, four of which I have put into the extras folder. I am especially pleased with the two of the mother blackbird feeding her young chicks in a nest in a cabbage tree close to the path. The other two photos are of a chaffinch and an eastern rosella.

This one appealed most to S, aesthetically. Showing out the left end of the nest is the tail of the other parent bird, while the other karuhiruhi (Pied Shag) parent appears to be guarding the nest.

Still more reading to do.

Update on the house move: the grandsons are happy with their new rooms. When their mother and aunt set up Young L's room yesterday (in his absence), they found that the only place for his desk was facing the door, and occupying much of the otherwise free space in the room. They were concerned. I said that I thought if I had had such a room at his age (almost 8), I would have really liked sitting at the desk and looking at anyone who came in through the door. I'm told that that is exactly how it turned out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.