The Third Eye

Tuatara Brewery has established The Third Eye, a tasting room, bar and take home beer shop in what was once the Boy’s Institute in Arthur Street, Te Aro, Wellington.  Also in the building is a microbrewery and a private function area. 

The front of the building appears rather like a Masonic Lodge. The building was officially opened as the Boy’s Institute in October 1906 by the Right Honourable William Lee, Baron Plunkett, who was at that time the Governor of New Zealand (being the representative of King Edward V)

For the last year or two, it has functioned as a bar and cafe. Food is available from midday until late, as is a range of Tuatara beers, including experimental brews. I understand that it is possible to spend a long time there nursing a single drink and accessing the internet through free wifi.

I have enjoyed Tuatara’s Pacific Pale Ale in the past, and their pilsener is also tasty. I have repeatedly seen this painting on the wall of The Third Eye, as I have driven (or been driven) past. Only this evening did I find out what it is when I went for my first run in many weeks. 

The third eye refers to the vestigial "third eye" of the tuatara, which is officially a sort of pineal gland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.