Backblip filler - Nell

I actually took no photos at all on the 6th October. The Grantown site was wholly uninspiring, I could not even grab a morning view through the windscreen as we had been directed to park nose-in. The weather was vile and the rain teeming down, with the hills shrouded in cloud.

We had planned to walk the Blairfindy circular route on the Glenlivet Estate, sleeping wild there and walking at Drumin in the morning  but I had the notion that if tomorrow's weather might be better we could swap our itinerary around. We drove to Tomintoul to check the local forecast at the Ranger's office.

The next day's forecast was no better. We decided to scrap Blairfindy, drive down to Drumin and park there. We took a look at our old house and then did the old Drumin Circular, which used to be our daily dog walk.  I did not take a camera out in the rain as I knew that I already had many photographs taken in far better weather. Hundreds of them.

It was a subdued walk in many ways. I was hurting in my back and my legs, the weather was awful, and I missed Griff and Suzie so very much. They were there at every turn in every memory and I almost expected to see one of them come lolloping up.  Our conversation was very much of the "remember when Suzie jumped in the river here?" and "Wasn't it funny when that deer startled Griff?" variety.

We slept in the car park under Drumin Castle,  by the side of the river Livet and just yards from our old home.

So, here is a photo of Nell in one of her many forests this Autumn - at Loch Morlich on the 5th October.  Today's Extra pics of Drumin Castle and Griff on The Doune come from October 15th 2005

5th October
4th October
3rd October
2nd October
1st October

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.