Vulcan's Valedictory Tour

I received an email a few days ago from a pilot, whose plane I had photographed at North Weald, telling me that the Vulcan would be doing a fly past there today. I was quite excited about having this nugget of inside information. I read a letter in the paper asking why the route of the farewell tour had not been published.

A couple of days later I had an email from a friend, who I believe belongs to the official XH558 fan club, telling me about the fly past and most recently my gyroplane pilot mate posted that he would be there.

The world and his wife turned up at North Weald. I was surprised as the Battle of Britain fly past did not attract a huge crowd. The Vulcan seems to have a very wide appeal. There's no doubt that it is a magnificent plane but I think a sort of cult of celebrity has grown up around it.

It was lovely to see Arnie, his family and his instructor Owen at The Squadron and to introduce my daughter to them. :)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.