TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Autumn Day In Rothrock State Forest

Went for a short jaunt this afternoon on Bear Meadows Road near the Tussey Mountain Ski Area just to check out the state of the foliage there. I had it in mind to stop by a small pond that I had photographed in Autumn several years ago. 
That idea turned out to be a no go. As I turned in at the parking area, I spotted a big fat "No Trespassing" sign effectively blocking the footpath that I intended to take. 
But, even though I wasn't able to see or photograph the pond, the rest of the forest was quite lovely on this warm and sunny October day. I was especially fond of this location because of the pretty red carpet of underbrush which I thought set off the darkness of the tree trunks quite nicely.

"Oh, these vast, calm, measureless mountain days, inciting at once to work and rest! Days in whose light everything seems equally divine, opening a thousand windows to show us God. Nevermore, however weary, should one faint by the way who gains the blessings of one mountain day; whatever his fate, long life, short life, stormy or calm, he is rich forever."



~ MY FIRST SUMMER IN THE SIERRA - John Muir

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.