Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

A new Mantid

I am thinking this might be a snake mantid but I am not sure.  I found a nymph and this one in the salvia.  I have not seen these before.  I love how I can find new species from time to time.  I also witnessed a jumping spider's reaction to when a fly came and sat on the leaf it was on.  First of all it scuttled to the other side of the leaf and then I saw it put it's head up over the side of the leaf to see what the fly was doing.  It ducked down again and then put it's head up again.  It was really quite comical.  By the time I had gone and got my camera the fly had gone and while I did manage a shot of another lynx with it's bounty, I thought I better spare you a spider shot.  The nymph of the mantid is in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.