Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Variations on a theme...

Well, apparently fall is sexy-time in the insect world because I saw so many of these Banded Meadowhawks hooking up (literally) that I lost count.  There were also many spreadwing damsels mating - hot lovin' on the water!  Anywho...how could I not blip this?  

I took this with the new 300 mm prime lens with the 1.4 teleconverter  - and then I cropped it by about 30%. It's not crystal clear, but it's better than I would have got with Big Daddy.  And these little guys are way too skittish for a macro lens.  I posted two other shots on Flickr:
Another pair of meadowhawks in tandem
Sexy damselflies

This morning we had a bit of a start.  I took the suet out and hung it on the deck for the birds and came in to have breakfast with hubs.  As we were eating, I said I was feeling really good that we hadn't seen a bear in over a month.  Just then, there was a suspicious thump from the deck.  We both jumped up to look ...and saw a large black bear perched on our deck rail, making his way to the suet.  I opened the back door and yelled (the damned air horn was on the deck) and banged a metal spoon on a pot but he was not to be deterred.  He very gently took the suet cage in his moth, carefully climbed off the deck and walked off into the woods with his prize.  Once he was safely off the deck we ran out and sounded the air horn - he wasn't impressed.  Damn, damn, damn.  So, I guess no more suet until it gets colder and the bears go to sleep.  

Thanks for the stars on yesterday's sexy bumble bees.  The nighttime temps are going to drop below freezing starting Saturday, so I doubt we'll have bees around much longer... or dragons.  Might as well blip 'em while I've got 'em.

Toodles
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.