Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Sunny in Hexham

I was in Hexham this morning for a haircut and to run a few errands. Time was short because we expected the window fitters this afternoon to sort out a few problems with our job.

I walked quickly through the park, stopping briefly to capture this scene. The summer bedding plants have all gone and primulas have been newly planted. The bowling green looks in very good shape, but I suspect the season is over.

Different fitters came and they were no bother at all, full of apologies for the deficits of the previous lot.

Tonight we saw Benedict Cumberbatch as Hamlet in the NT live streaming. Our little cinema was packed out. I had an open mind after hearing the very mixed reviews. There were wonderful things in this production, but I do think it is a mistake to increase the emotional temperature to boiling and keep it there - there is no where to go after that. Some lines hit me forcibly and I wanted to pause the film and replay the section!!  The audience was buzzing, if exhausted, by the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.