Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Jersey Boys Above Waitohi

Another gorgeous Spring day here in South Canterbury, perfect for a little tiki tour on my way back from a day in Timaru.

I decided to head back via Pleasant Point and Waitohi, but as I got to the latter I decided to turn back on myself and head up the hill above the Centennial Hall.

After a few K's I found this mob of Jersey bulls strip grazing above the Opihi basin down below. With all the dairy cows around we get to see plenty of Jersey girls, but the boys are not so common. Initially they were quite suspicious of me, so I took a seat on a concrete standpipe riser and let them relax a little before reeling off a whole load of frames as they munched on the lush green grass.

(Another) Horomaka Tech Note: 
This is another shot from my Fuji X100T, which seems to be the first camera I reach for these days, mainly because of its compact form and its high flash sync speed thanks to its leaf shutter. To get the three dimensional nature of the image, as well as to emphasise the blues and greens,  I used a polariser on the lens with an ND gradient, and used my fill flash to light these beautiful boys against the lovely rolling backdrop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.