Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Best pub food in Edinburgh?

This was absolutely gorgeous... and no I didn't cook it.

"Scottish venison stuffed with haggis, bourguignon sauce, polenta purée, sautéed pancetta & autumn vegetables"


Roz is in town again and I met up with her, Ann and Baxter for our usual afternoon of sober reflection. OK, we went to several pubs and drank beer :-) We started at "The Bow Bar", then moved on to "Greyfriars Bobby's Bar" , "The Doctor's Bar" , "The Potting Shed" and finally "Usher's Bar", all bars I've frequented numerous times in the past which normally serve an excellent selection of beers, although The Doctor's Bar had a very disappointing selection of beers, which I told the poor barman in no uncertain terms even though it wasn't his fault (I do feel a bit guilty about that).

We had dinner at The Potting Shed, the first time any of us had eaten there and it was REALLY good! The other three ordered from the pre-theatre menu (two courses for £10 or three courses for £12, if I remember correctly) which gives three options for each menu, main courses had a vegetarian a meat and a fish option. Baxter had the "Pigs's cheek, black pudding hash brown & apple purée" starter, Ann had "Goats cheese mousse, pickled beetroot, walnut toasts & honey balsamic reduction" while Rox and I skipped the starters, much to my regret as both Ann & Baxter said they were excellent. For the main course the other three all chose the pork and chorizo main course and all three exclaimed it was sensational. I chose the the venison (pictured) from the regular menu and it was gorgeous. I barely left a spot on the plate (yes I even ate that brussels sprout pictured at the bottom).

I did not have a dessert but Ann & Roz had the "Potting Shed windfall, fruit & nut soil, chocolate mousse, sour cherry ice cream" (see extra picture). Roz let me share hers and it really good.

We then adjourned to Ushers for a final beer before dashing off to catch
our buses home.

All in all it was a lovely day catching up over beers and the food was outstanding far better than one would expect from a pub and could easily stand up against any top quality restaurant. If you get the opportunity I'd highly recommend eating at "The Potting Shed" (32-34 Potterrow, Edinburgh EH8 9BT), they also have a good selection of "craft" draught beers available (18 lines, 5 of them cask, many of them local).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.