Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

"If I was a carpenter...

...
And you were a lady
Would you marry me anyway?
Would you have my baby?"


That old Johnny Cash song always pops into my head when I see a carpenter bee...so now it can be swimming around your head too!  Thank me later.


This big male Eastern Carpenter bee has been sitting on the buddleia for the last 4 or 5 days, not moving but still very much alive.  If my research is correct, he was born this summer and will overwinter to emerge and mate in the spring.  While he's quite large (about 3/4 inch) he's completely harmless, lacking a stinger.  About the worst a male carpenter bee can do is buzz loudly and bump you. 


Many people view carpenter bees as pests because they excavate their nest/hibernation holes in wood which can, over the course of several years, cause damange.  The bigger problem, however, is that wood that has been colonized by carpenter bees attracts woodpeckers who can do significant damage in a very short amount of time.  Lucky us, we live right on the edge of thick mixed woods, which provides plenty of places for carpenter bees to nest.  So, for me, they are welcome in the garden.


Hubs went out to Long Island today to visit the graves of his grandparents.  I opted to stay closer to home and went in search of a red-headed woodpecker that had been seen about 12 miles from here.  I got very lucky and spotted it immediately and even managed to get a few pics, although from very far away as I didn't want to disturb the bird.  These beautiful woodpeckers are rare in this part of NJ, so exciting to see one.  And only the second I've ever seen.  One heavily cropped photo HERE.


And one additional bee shot on Flickr - a pollen-covered male bumble bee 


We are preparing for a frost tonight - first of the season - so I brought my little pot of basil in, as well as the firecracker flowers.  I'll attempt to keep both inside over the winter - we'll see how successful I am.  If the frost tonight materializes, I hope to try some macro shots of the frost formations early tomorrow.  Again, we'll see.  


Thank you for sending yesterday's lady beetle to the Popular Page!  I appreciate the comments, hearts, and stars, and will endeavor to catch up to thank everyone personally.  


Cheerio!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.