Coniston round

When I sneaked a look out of the van blinds this morning, there was pink in the distant sky. That rapidly gives me a get the kettle on feeling. So, I got the kettle on. My sinuses were feeling better this morning. Another good sign.

I drove into Coniston and we set off walking at 8. I'd asked Rich last night to text me an updated forecast from Spain as he had wifi.  It still said 'little sun, if at all.' I was expecting the day to continue as it had ended on yesterday's walk. The weatherline forecast is usually spot on.  Today, thankfully, it was not.  

A sliver of sun broke through as I was heading up the initial slopes of Wetherlam. I wasn't sure if that was going to be it or not so I was just pleased to have seen the glowing early light on the crags of Coniston.  By the time we'd worked our way up the ridge to the summit, there were some beautiful rays of light beaming through the clouds. Walking over to Swirl How, the sun just battled on. It was a perfect combination of long streaming clouds and low sunlight hitting them.  

The tops were clear but it was a little breezy. That didn't stop me taking endless photos though. Every time I looked around the views took my breath away and the clarity was simply amazing.  It was so completely not what I was expecting that it became doubly pleasurable.

We got a bit of a shift on heading up Swirl How and then over to the Old Man of Coniston as it was quite bracing but I had forgotten how lovely this high level circuit was and I still did plenty of breathing it in.

I started meeting people coming the other way at this point and by the time we reached the top of the Old Man, it was quite hectic. 

The walk down was quick and, with two poles, fairly easy on the knees. With today's outing, I've no excuse for not getting properly back on my bike!

And that's two blippin' years today! My commenting has become much more sporadic, I'm afraid, but it's the only way I can prevent myself being glued to a screen. I still thoroughly enjoy the whole concept and community spirit and now simply join in with you all when I can. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.