A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Running!

After a visit to the zoo, where we saw many animals and had a lovely time (but where are the giraffes and lions?), we bid goodbye to my sister-in-law and family. Grandma and papi had tickets for the statue of liberty and Ellis Island, so I took the little guy to the Firefighter Museum, since they have a tiny 9/11 room. 
It's strange, travelling with my boy, especially when it comes to my research. I used to walk with the camera in hand, looking way beyond me. Now, my gaze is always taken by my boy, so unless he is sleeping, I find it hard to think about my research. And I'm not so good at "including" him in that research, because it's 9/11, and he is a boy. Should he not believe that all's well in the world, that no bad things will ever happen? 

We then met up with my mom and stepdad, and had dinner at one of my favorite New York haunts, a small restaurant in Battery Park. They left with Olivier and then I walked in the memorial, until I was shooed out since apparently, it closes at 9pm. 

Coming back to New York, coming back to the Memorial, has felt like coming home... I have missed you, crazy New York...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.