Isolated Beauty

Today started of with a heavy shower of rain then the wind really pick up. The gust were very strong at times. It was lovely warm with around 23c which was something! I haven't been outside today apart from take this shot of the Cymbidium orchid I have at the front door.

I normally bring the orchids inside when the buds start forming but this year I didn't or even last year. When we were in Australia in July/August there must have been some really hard frosts as I lost 80% of the flowers of this plant. My other one has just stared to bud up now so that one was saved.

The Orchid in this shot has been out for sometime, I just seem to forget to blip it.. so is pasted its best, really. This shot I took last year when we got back from our holiday on August 13. It flowered much earlier last year. I will blip the other Orchid when it comes out.

I mostly didn't leave the house today because of the strong winds but also I thought I better rest my ankle. After resting the ankle it feels so much better until I go up the stars!

Here here is is an article about the storms that have been hitting the country. Gusts as strong as 170 kmh are battering the mainland it was said that roofs had been lifted and cars blown of roads. A earthquake damaged building in Christchurch that had the protective fence around blown onto the street. I walk past that a lot, so pleased I didn't today. It seems much calmer now. I would say there would be many fires because of the wind as well.

Isolated Beauty
Delicate orchid, 
Dancing in the pale half light, 
Graceful but alone.
By Lorrie Scheider

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.