Dor beetle

This is one of the Dor beetles I found yesterday, who stayed in the cold at my house overnight so I could get a decent picture of him.
The Dor beetle Geotrupes stercorarius, at 25cm long is one of our largest dung beetles. It is found throughout the UK from April to October, and spends it's day eating it's body weight in dung! which although it sounds disgusting to us actually performs a vital clean up role in the countryside. 
They fly, but very clumsily and often bump into things. 
Despite being clumsy, and having foul habits I think they are beautiful with the iridescent sheen and blue shiny underside. 
I love beetles, and I am sad this is probably going to be one of the last ones I see in 2015.........
Here's to the winter passing quickly and the 2016 season!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.