Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Hound's Tongue on the turn

I thought I'd go for a walk in the bush opposite this afternoon, just to clear my head from a day when I've been trying to get my head around building a website for a new client. It's not a big job, but it's got a few niggles, so once my brain had reached saturation point, a stroll through the forest was just what I needed.

It's difficult to see the photo for the trees sometimes when it comes to shooting in the bush. Sure, there's plenty of magnificent sights, from mighty totara to tiny epiphyes, but isolating a single subject is quite tricky, particularly when you've trod the path so many times.

I've found that only taking one lens is the way to go as it gives the photographic muscles a bit of a flex. Usually I carry my X100T wherever I go, but today I chose to take the X-E2 with the 60mm f/2.4 macro lens. It's a light combo (just over 500g in total) but it offers great sharpness and resolving power, perfect for isolating this epiphyte Hound's Tongue fern sprouting from the trunk of a kahikatea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.