The Wave

Tuesday 20th Oct 2015 (1151)

We went out to Yorkshire Sculpture Park today to see The Wave, the sculpture of poppies from the Tower of London last year. I didn't get to London last year so it was good to see this for real. We were staggered at how many people were out to see it.

I was surprised at some of the comments I overheard;-
"Are these the ones from the Tower? There aren't as many."
"I thought they'd sold them all, maybe these are some others."
"I thought they'd be real."
"It doesn't look as effective as it did in London"

To the last one I felt like saying "No dear, that's because in London it was surrounded by 800,000+ more!" 

Although some people seemed underwhelmed I thought it was a great display and still very moving. 

After a bit of shopping we returned home for a relaxing afternoon. I'm heading back over the Pennines this evening, although my holiday isn't over yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.