EmmaBattrick

By MamaOfBoys

I'm a trifle mad

But not mad at the trifle I made which was thrown together in such haste at wanting dessert that I'm not sure you could even call it trifle. It's literally berries, sponge and custard.

Today was a good day until it turned to custard, why do we say that anyway? custard is delicious as noted above in my berry sponge dessert thing.

So Kanye was in bed asleep tonight, Marley was on the loo and I was putting Harper to bed when I realized Marley was in there a while. After asking Andre numerous times to check him and Andre saying numerous times he was fine, I got up to see Marley which woke Harper up.

Mar was standing there not knowing what to do as the toilet roll holder broke and the paper had unraveled all over the floor. He hadn't called out he was figuring out how to fix the mess poor wee soul. So I helped him finish his task but in doing so it woke Kanye who thought it was time to get up.

I put mar to bed and sat with Kanye for an hour before he dropped off again . During that time I tried to put Harper back to sleep but our smoke alarm then went off. For all of 10 Seconds it squealed it's siren no smoke to be seen. Probably a flat battery but really bad timing. It frightened Harper and Kanyes eyes opened. Ugh.

I was at the point of wishing I was a Greek woman with a lot of plates to demolish. Maybe I'll just finish this trifle thing instead. I know none of how I feel is my boys fault but you know I think it's the one thing that probably winds every parent up - kids not sleeping. I was so frustrated with the situation.

I guess I also feel like the time I usually get to relax at the end of each day has been dashed. I like to clean up the kitchen and make lunches and you sit and unwind. It's late now and I'm finally getting Harper to sleep. He got himself so upset. The alarm, the going to sleep, not going to sleep. I'd cry too. In fact I almost screamed in frustration before in a way the neighbours might have been concerned. I didn't.

Kanye is a lot better today. Eating, drinking, not seizing. He's dozed off and on, still pretty tired but in a much better state. Thinking I'll send him to school for half a day tomorrow.

I had a 2 hour meeting today. I wasnt expecting it to be so long but there you go. The autism spectrum disorder coordinator for the District health board came. She basically gets info, tells me what's available to us as parents, groups we can join, services available for Marley. She is also a go between for services I am currently involved with or are on the wait list for. She said she sort of goes around jumping up and down getting stuff done. I like it. It's what I need.

So today could have been worse I'm grateful it wasn't.

Must remember to buy battery tomorrow and maybe more custard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.