If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Crayfish

Our final morning on board for this trip.  I was in the cabin when "The Mate" started shouting "come quick, come quick".  Clickychick told him I was busy only to get the reply "tell him to stop what he is doing and come here".

As I always sometimes  do as I am told I went to the stern to see what was going on.   "Is that a Crayfish?" was the question.   Yes!  Oh I thought so but I have only ever seen one on a barbie in Australia!


It was siting just below the water line on the neighbouring boat.  The blue line is the water line, I am not sure why it has turned out so bright.  I think it is a Signal Crayfish for the following reasons.  It doesn't look quite right for the White Clawed I am used to, something about the tail.  It looks bigger than any White Clawed I have every seen and the white/blue of the pincer joint at the bottom of the picture suggest signal.


Signal Crayfish are an invassive species which are taking over from our White Clawed.  Being larger and a serious predator it kills off young White Clawed leaving non to grow and replace the older generations until the species dies out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.