FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Cheeky Teenager!

On a visit to Leeds Castle this afternoon I was fortunate to make the acquaintance of this rather handsome looking mute swan, who is one of the cygnets that was born in the Spring.

My Blip followers may remember me writing about the swans nesting around the estate earlier in the year. It's lovely to see them growing up and despite his feathers being brown I think he (or she) looked beautiful.

As my friend and I walked from the Castle to Costa we were confronted by this opportunistic swan looking for food - what a cheeky teenager. I must remember to buy bird food when I visit again.

A whirlwind visit to the Castle shop to buy a gift ended up in a chat with one of the Castle stewards about his recent motorsport adventures and a quick hello to the lovely retails girls as I admired the tempting selection of Christmas decorations.

I'd just missed a talk in the Castle on Henry V, which was a shame, but I had time for a coffee catch up with my friend (fellow Blipper LaLa) about the goings on in the Education Department.

I got a big cheesy grin from the Security Manager, had a chat to the Finance Director, hugs from the Accommodation Manager and a nice chat to one of the lovely ladies in the Estate Office Reception.

There is no such thing as a quick visit to the Castle as everyone wants to chat to me. But I guess that's to be expected after working there for a year. I miss my former colleagues and the buzz of the Estate. Fond memories indeed.

This evening I had a proper catch up with another great friend from the Castle who is one of the guides. I even got to read one of her latest talks all about the shenanigans of the high society set that partied at the Castle from the 1920s through to the 60s with the likes of David Niven, Princess Margaret and Frank Sinatra.

Julian Fellowes could pinch a story or two for Downton Abbey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.