Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Wet Morning

Poor birds, lucky birds.  it depends on your point of view.  I don't think any critter really enjoys being caught out in rainy weather  Especially little critters like hummingbirds who must constantly come out to eat, regardless of the conditions.  Their little body temperatures drop with the cold and dampness. I have actually seen Zippy puff up and shiver in really cold conditions to keep from freezing to death.

The luckiest birds have been the finches, doves and thrashers.  When the clouds pass and the sun comes out, as it did today, there is water in the dishes.  It has rained fairly regularly since my surgery (and Brad comes on Mondays for a scrub and fill) so I haven't felt any guilt for not being able to use the hose to fill them. Storms overnight are a win-win.  Good for our desert environment and good for my feathered friends.

On a personal note:  I'm not sure whether I'm healing properly.  I was forced into a driving situation on Tuesday evening and again on Wednesday afternoon.  Afterwards in each case I needed to apply ice on the incision site, as well as, wrapping some completely around my fingers.  I am also back on the pain medication.  Just because I need rest doesn't mean my mom doesn't need continual attention.  But I'll have to figure out something to give me at least a week of complete rest...perhaps just limiting myself to an hour of the two finger poke  (or doing really bad dictations on my iPad).     :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.