Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

White-Haired Dude

As promised since my blips on Sunday and Monday,  I am going to compare how Zippy, my favorite (and favorite of many of you) hummingbird has aged since I first spotted him on that fateful day in October of 2013. 

Having been a permanent resident of my backyard for just a few days past two full years, I expect him to spend his third winter with me.  With El Niño entrenched in the Pacific, we are expected to have a harsh one.  I will need to pay extra attention to him and provide him with as much protection from the cold as possible.  His age is definitely a major concern for me.

Let me get to it.  You might have to compare the previous two blips as better examples than today's to see the major differences.  That said, let me explain what you should look for.

When he was very young, you should notice a small gorget (purple or dark) area around his neck.  Gorgets often flare off of his neck.  You should also notice a larger amount of white on his face. As he matured, he developed his full gorget, and little white on his face.  This is what adults look like.

But as he gets older, the gorget reduces in size and the white area increases. (I am surprised this amount happened so quickly.  Maybe staying year-round has taken a toll.)  Compare this especially to Sunday's blip. 

Here are the earlier blips to look at for comparison (please take a look at at least one per year.  Thanks for your effort.  It's really interesting!)
And with my arm, it has been really hard to do links! :

18 Oct 2013
A young Zippy, with a small gorget and plenty of bright white.

*23 Set 2014
An adult Zippy, from front a beautiful, full gorget and little white from this angle.

10 Nov 2014
An adult Zippy, from this angle, a larger gorget and less white than last year.

Now compare these past two years to the past three blips; small gorgets and lots of white, as the Zipper rapidly ages.

Zip and I thank you. Neither one of us know how much time he has left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.