Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

An Old Guy Flying High

< catching up on some blips >

Catching up gave me the advantage of having captured Zippy three consecutive days.  That gave me good views of his neck and head so I could compare them to years gone by.

Zippy is beginning to show his age.  The first time I photographed him was
 4 October 2013.  It was not a very good angle of him, kind of a butt shot sipping nectar.  But I knew enough to recognize that it was a Costa's hummingbird because of the way he "zipped" (soared) into the feeder.  He also had 'barely' any tail feathers.  I had one bird book at the time and I had made good use of it!

Tomorrow I will link yesterday's blip and today's and show how Zippy has aged over the three years he has been visiting my yard.  He has been a year round resident.  Maybe that has taken an extra toll on him...or maybe he is just getting ready ... I can't bear to think of other options.

Please continue to check out my next blip (and the past one) and the others I will list so you can compare Zippy through the years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.