The pumpkins arrive

I rushed up the hill to the farm shop near Bisley this morning as we needed fresh stocks of eggs and lots of vegetables.  I took my camera on the off chance although I didn't have much time before going to the pop-up shop again to do another stint of explaining the Neighbourhood Development Plan to local people.

The vegetables were all very good quality it being the season for lots of winter produce to mature.  The carrots, turnips, mushrooms, parsnips, broccoli and selected salad leaves all looked wonderful. The new Cox apples from local orchards are my particular favourite.

On my way out of the wooden shed in which the shop is housed I saw some racks of pumpkins graded by their size and picked up my camera from the car.  I took a few snaps and then spotted three which had been placed in a separate area as if specially selected which I've added as an 'Extra photo'. In case you are wondering the price tag on the nearest pumpkin is £2-99.  The sound of a tractor approaching meant that Ashley D., the farmer, would be arriving.  I looked up and saw the tractor pull into the muddy yard with a large container full of pumpkins behind the tractor.

Ashley descended from the cab, said hello and we exchanged a few words and joked with each other as we usually do while he washed the mud off his wellies and waterproof trousers.  He said that the crop hadn't yet fully ripened to turn yellow this year, but added that the yellowing would continue even though they had been picked. Then he turned the hose on the pumpkins and I too this quick shot of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.