View across The Horns valley towards Thrupp

Before I went to work in town this morning I watched the birds feeding on our grapes on the vines which have climbed the tree behind the house.  I picked up mu camera as the colours of the leaves were so beautiful and I hoped to catch a bird amongst the colourful leaves.  Sadly none arrived and instead I focused on the two cows standing still in the pasture called Ferney Close on the far side of The Horns valley.

The green trees in the foreground are actually rooted beside the Lime Brook which runs along The Horns valley behind our garden but about sixty feet below us.  The reddish leaves are on our rhus tree which is about ten yards away in our garden beside the cabin from which our bird feeders hang.

We have wonderful views above our garden looking out from our back door and windows.  The hamlet of Thrupp can be seen on the far side of the meadows and pasture and in the distance the hillside leads up from the Golden Valley to Minchinhampton Common.  Soon the leaves will be gone and then we get the wintry bonus of a clear view through the trees behind the house, which is still obscured at present.  Although winter is not my favourite season I always think that the revelation of the views is one of its bonuses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.