My Life in Pictures

By PhillyStitcher

Day 7 on Ocracoke Island

Today is our wedding anniversary!

6 miles down; 4 to go! Yes, you read right...walked two miles today! 

We ate out for breakfast. Dajio's for gourmet breakfasts. Seafood omelets, applewood bacon, and creme brûlée French toast. After breakfast, we walked through the village for a mile.

After lunch and rest at the cottage, we drove outside the village to a ramp where the wild ponies roam (Cape Hatteras National Seashore Ramp #72). It was amazing. It was truly desolate, with the little creek flowing and the tall wheats swaying. Alas, we didn't run into any wild ponies...

That ramp is about 1.5 miles one way and it leads right to the beach. Fishermen use this ramp, apparently. But I did not have the energy or stamina to do over 3 miles, which made me really sad. Next year, I should be able to go all the way to the beach and then go all the way back. 

The ramp was unpaved but firm enough so my legs didn't hurt at all. 

It was very, very breezy. At times, the breeze was so powerful that I felt as it pushed me as if to encourage me to keep moving.

Then it was time for a ferry boat back to Cape Hatteras for our anniversary dinner at Pamlico Sound Inn. 

While we were enjoying our filet mignons, it started pouring, just like it did on our wedding day 26 years ago...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.