Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 141: Prague Castle

I slept like a baby with the help of ear plugs and £1 a pint beer. I was out of bed and down to Charles Bridge early as it was foggy. It was thronged with photographers, all with impressive tripods and I felt inadequate with my little Gorillapod.

Then we took the efficient Metro and a tram to the funicular railway, which very inefficiently was closed for the winter. So we hiked up the stupidly steep hill to the replica Eiffel Tower at the top of Petrin, and then hiked up that too. A tad disturbingly the information board boasted about how quickly it was built, and it was a bit wobbly. I got halfway up the one way system to the top level and bottled it. Much apologising was needed to ascending tourists as I came down the up stairs. Halfway up the hill we stopped for coffee at a little cafe. Not sure what I ordered exactly but it was like the dregs at the bottom of a cafetière floating in scalding water. The Czechs are made of stern stuff if that's how they take their coffee.

We walked ( thankfully downhill now ) to the Castle, I relived my A Level history by trying to spot the window where the defenestration took place, and of course we stopped to eat something with Nutella spread all over it. Oohed and aahed at he Gothicness of St Vitus cathedral, got bored after five minutes of changing the guard, then wandered back to the Old Town, which was buzzing with people out in the glorious sunshine.

This afternoon we took another tram to Gehry's Dancing House, then went shopping for a Sparta Prague shirt for David; we could've got a Bayern Shirt, or Chelsea or Real Madrid, but not Sparta. The assistant in the enormous sports shop looked at me strangely when I asked. So instead he has a Huddersfield Town Russian Doll which we COULD find and we'll order the Sparta top when we get home. More wandering and eating Nutella, now we are back at the apartment watching the street performers in the square and debating what to do tonight.

My feet hurt.

(Miraculously I was able to add some extras via the iPad - I think you just have to catch it by surprise.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.