Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Wall

We were up at 3, at the airport for 5, massive queue at security ( I always get frisked anyway), straight onto the plane at 6.30, took off at 7, landed at 9.30 local time and by 10am we were in the taxi on the way to the hotel. Our room was ready. God bless German and easyJet efficiency.

Our hotel ( unbeknown to me when I booked it) is on the line of the wall, which is traced across the city by bricks on the ground. We walked to the Brandenburg Gate, tried to figure out which room of The Adlon Jacko dangled his baby from, did a bit of shopping (chocolate shop), went to the incredible Sony Centre (crying out for the fisheye lens which is at home in Huddersfield), went to the Holocaust memorial ( I will add a link to a photo; I must admit the place left me cold, I wasn't expecting that. I need to go again), did the whole cheesy Checkpoint Charlie thing (no photo with the fake guards as John wouldn't let me), shopped some more then collapsed in the hotel. I am currently utilising the free wifi in the lobby, sipping Reisling and wondering how we will stay awake for our trip up the TV tower at 8pm!

We like Berlin.

Thank you for the kind words on yet another proud mummy Blip yesterday xxx

Ps I didn't even mention that this is part of the 25th anniversary of the fall of the wall celebrations.

Holocaust memorial

Checkpoint Charlie and passing Trabant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.