DERELICT SUNDAY AND PINKTOBER 25

Derelict : deserted by the owner; abandoned; forsaken

After church today, we decided to go out for lunch and enjoyed roast lamb with all the trimmings at a local Farm Shop and Café, looking up to Liddington Hill, one of the lovely places in Wiltshire, just outside the town.  It was a beautiful sunny day and makes up for the fact that it will be dark early this evening.

We knew that along the road, which is our favourite way back home, was a derelict barn, as we had stopped there before - so we duly pulled off the road and because I was well organised, I got out my pink ribbon and pink butterfly and tied it on the gate - because I had to keep up with the Pinktober challenge, as well as the new Derelict Sunday challenge, hosted by freespiral.

There is a large house next door, so I told Mr. HCB that I was going to see if anyone was there, just in case the barn belonged to them and I was aware we were trespassing.  A black labrador saw me, bounded up and wanted to play but as I’m not used to dogs, I was a bit frightened.  I needn’t have worried because the owner came out soon afterwards and told Daisy to back off!  

I had quite a long chat with him - he said he didn’t actually own the barn or any of the other derelict buildings, but he was sure it would be all right for me to take photographs - in fact, he said that the farmer had sold the tiles off the roof about ten years ago, and since then the barn had fallen into disrepair and had been sadly neglected for all that time.  He told me that he didn’t think there was any need for me to contact the farmer, but that if anyone stopped me, I could say that he had told me it was OK for me to be there taking photographs.

So, blip sorted and there are a lot of other derelict things around too, so I have no doubt we will be back there in the coming weeks.

Special thoughts today of Mr. HCB's father, who was born on this day in 1906 and died in 1977.  A lovely man - still sadly missed and fondly remembered.

GOD can turn 
     broken pieces
          into masterpieces.

Please don’t forget to click on this link to help provide free mammograms for those who cannot afford to pay.  Thank you. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.