TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Watercolor Sunset

This was my view from the patio of my townhouse in Mill Hall, Pennsylvania. During the three years that I lived there I took many photos of these mountains across my Misty Mountain Meadow, but this is one of my very favorites. I spent many hours sitting on my little back patio gazing at ever changing watercolor sunsets, glittery starry skies and fluffy white snowfall. 
I posted this photo on Facebook three years ago today in France while I was experiencing the worst bout of home-sickness in my life. France is a lovely country to visit with beautiful, unique and valuable qualities all its own but the Appalachians are my home and I missed them dearly. 
The quote I used to accompany this photo is one of my favorites by John Muir, one of America's most famous and influential Naturalists.
“The Mountains Are Calling, and I Must Go…”  
I have felt this way many times in my life as I have moved from place to place and I think I would have gotten on wonderfully with this 19th century outdoor enthusiast, who once described himself as a "poetico-trampo-geologist-botanist and ornithologist-naturalist etc. etc.!!!!"
Muir lived a very remarkable life. You can learn more about him here:

http://www.pbs.org/nationalparks/people/historical/muir/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.