Dubious Origins

I walked miles in pursuit of this image.  The morning started well enough - it was bright and sunny so I headed in the direction of Ashridge Forest to get some late Autumn photos.  I went to the Visitor Centre to get a map or plan of the many tracks around the area - but there are none. 
The helpful lady told me a route and showed me on a map which of course I couldn't take with me. I have absolutely no sense of direction and the retention of a gnat when it comes to turn left, turn right but I headed gainfully on my way!

You can guess what happened... I did, of course, get lost.  I had no idea in which direction I needed to go to get back to where I started!  So several hours and many miles later I did find my car.  I had walked a total of 9 miles and my legs were letting me know they had had enough!

One benefit was that I saw a lot of deer.  These are completely wild and so don't tolerate people within any sensible camera range.  The stags are getting towards the time for mating and were bellowing loudly.  At one point I did see a couple fighting - the clash of the antlers resounded loud and clear.  In fact, it was the one in the blip and another who was close by.  I'll attach the best I could get as an extra although they were inconsiderately fighting in the shade!  I'll also tag on one Autumn picture.

So the origin of this picture is being lost in the woods!  Sort of fitting in with the mono monday theme.  I think I have earned my glass of wine after choir rehearsal this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.