Last Day!

I went in for the last day of this season at Waddesdon Manor.  Walking in, the light was beautiful and the dew (or was it melting frost) still heavy on the grass. I took a few minutes to capture this atmosphere - the 'calm before the storm'. Although the House was not due to open for another half an hour, already the visitors were gathering.

The relentless tide of visitors continued all day - and being a weekend, lots of children were there as well; this requires a lot of additional vigilance to keep fingers off the valuable items!  The weather was glorious and I think families had taken advantage to enjoy the autumn views.  The Education department had also laid on lots of activities for families (see my blip for Friday) and this would have increased visitor numbers - these activities will continue all week and, although the House is closed, the grounds will still be open.

Over the next two weeks part of the House will be transformed for the Christmas Season and in January close completely until some time in March.  This is to 'rest' the collection and give it a break from the light.

I was on duty in the Morning Room for part of my shift and at one point a shaft of sunlight sneaked in and lit up a vase casting interesting shadows - I seized the opportunity and have included a couple as extras. My last two so I shall have to look back and delete some to make way for a few more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.