Andy under the hops at the Crown and Sceptre

I had a long meeting to plan the next committee meeting which meant thinking about setting the budget for next year.  We also managed to sort out how we accommodate the incoming comments and responses to the Neighbourhood Plan.  They are part of the record and need to be available for examination if necessary.  Then the changes that might be required need to be incorporated.  So still a lot of work ahead.

I had a brief break on my return and managed to progress the jigsaw that Helena started a few days ago.  I hadn't played with one for many moons so it felt good to see the picture begin t evolve, an old steam train this time.

Then I had to go to our local pub, the Crown and Sceptre, to meet with Andy F. to discuss next spring's Stroud Film Festival which he initiated and coordinates.  I have agreed to help put on one of the events with Philip B., which will be the Stroud Community TV Awards.  It was very successful last spring and Rodda, the Crown's landlord, has agreed to host it in the pub again. 

Before Andy arrived on foot from the other side of town, I bought a half of bitter and whilst at the bar I noticed the array of hops which have recently been hung up to decorate the top of the bar area.  I asked the woman serving if I could take a picture and because what light there was shone from behind the bar, she suggested I came behind there as well.

I tried to get some close-ups of the hops which are plants I've always loved but only had a zoom lens with me.  As I took the pictures I spotted Andy arriving and switched focus onto him.  You can still see the hops hanging down. One of my very earliest childhood memories is of vi=siting friends of my parents who owned an oast house in west Sussex, where the hops harvest was being dried and processed.  It is a very powerful herb and I member being very happy in the intense smelly atmosphere, which I'm sure had altered my consciousness!!  No wonder it provides extremely happy memories. 

I then returned to the table by the log fire and we spent a very enjoyable hour or so chatting about journeys (Andy has just returned from a few weeks in Cuba) and politics as people are wont to do in such hostelries. Rodda joined us just before we left and we settled on the date for the film festival event. Doing publicity for the whole festival is next on the agenda, so there goes my time off!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.