The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Eilean Donan castle

Day 8 of our trip to Raasay and back

Eilean Donan Castle is surely one of the most photographed places in Britain, if not the world.  As we drove south from Skye, and I saw the still, reflecting water in the loch, I'm afraid I was unable to pass without stopping.  This was much to the consternation of Sue in the car in front who had already driven past the entrance to the car park by the time she saw my flashing headlights.

I did have a quick sprint back up the road onto the bridge to see if I could get a less familiar angle on the castle (see extra), but I think this easy view from the car park was better on this day of milky skies.  And looking at images on the internet, there are anyway photographs of the castle from every terrestrial angle.

We started the morning with a last walk from the house parallel to the shore in the hope of seeing the otters, and they didn't disappoint - which gave me a full house for the 7 days that we were on Raasay in the light (it was dark when we arrived on the previous Saturday).

The trip home was long and relatively uneventful (apart from the death wish drivers overtaking in ridiculous places when they might have been better advised to slow down and just enjoy the view).  We made it home long after it was dark, all with a mixture of joy for a week well spent and melancholy for leaving it all behind again.  A week is not enough, and goodness knows we had taken enough food to last us another week (and the Community Shop is very well appointed now too).

With the previous day's blip, I have now posted a full set for the trip, it's only taken me two weeks and three days since we returned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.