Now, what do we have here?

Dear Diary,

This is the first time I have seen a Bobwhite in the Crab Apple tree behind the house!  In fact, there were two Bobwhites walking along the thin branches picking the the berries.  The branches bounced up and down while these plump birds did their thing.

Just a few days ago I wrote about how the tree is Nature's gift to the wild life around my house, providing them with food when things begin to get scarce around here.  Blueboy and his fellow Jays are also taking advantage of the bounty.  It warms my heart.

I was on my way out back to rake up some leaf piles when I spotted the birds in the tree.  All thoughts of leaves took a back seat to capturing this unique moment.  The Eastern Bobwhite is normally found only as far north as Massachusetts.  Seeing them in southern Maine is rare but may be a result of the warming climate.  They are usually ground feeders but I guess they just couldn't resist the juicy fruit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.