The Fall Rains

Dear Diary,

They have begun, the fall rains.  First last week and then the last couple of days.  Steady, soaking rain.  The pond levels have begun to rise and the Ossipee River is nearly back to normal.  We need many more days like this if we are to replenish the ground water before the ground freezes in December.  We are not out of the woods yet but we are getting there.

This little chickadee is unconcerned with the rain, he was just enjoying one of the berries on Auntie's Tree.  No sign of Gaylord yet and each day I hope that this is the day he'll come back.  I miss the cheeky little fellow!

Yesterday was one of those days when watching old movies with a bowl of popcorn or reading a book by the fire seemed the thing to do.  My  mother always made us a bowl of popcorn on Saturday night to watch television with.  No Netflix or dvd's back then of course but I do remember how I loved watching Peter Pan with Mary Martin in the lead role.  It seemed magical to me.

Most of my magic I found in books and now I find it in the world around me, through my photography.  Small and quite ordinary things, like a little chickadee in a tree, can have a magical quality to them I think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.