Portal

Dear Diary,

I found this so interesting.  This tree must have developed a huge burl which in itself is interesting as it isn't all that old.  It looks like it might have been cut off by some woodworker that likes to make bowls out of burled wood.  It left this gaping hole that I am sure woodpeckers have enjoyed.  To me, it looked like a portal, a door to another dimension.  It would make a great place for a bird to nest too.  I like my  magical thinking to have a practical side as well!

This is the last bit of sun we'll see for a couple of days as a fast moving tropical storm grazes the coast of Maine late today and tomorrow.  It will bring torrential rain and 50+MPH winds.  I am hoping the really high winds will stay along the coast.  I'm sure it will strip the remaining leaves off the trees and bring down a few as well.  Time for Emerson and I to "shelter in place"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.