"See! I can do it too!"

Dear Diary,

Philomena was not going to be outdone by Mr. Bobwhite!  She has been busily gathering berries on the Crab Apple tree too.  It was quite comical to watch as she hung and spun on the tiny twigs.  She put on an acrobatic show as impressive as the Cirque du Soleil! 

Mr. Bobwhite was there too, on the other side of the tree.  They worked their individual sections and all was peaceful...there was plenty for all.  I am so glad I planted this Royal Crab Apple tree.  It has provided me with such wonderful entertainment over the years.

We had plenty of rain yesterday, the remnants of Hurricane Patricia.  It seems so strange to see a hurricane with your own name attached to it!  By the time it got to Maine it was a mere whimper.  Hardly a branch down but lots of swirling leaves.  We are entering the "rusting" phase now where the color mutes to a rusty burnt-orange color.  Soon the trees will be bare and we will be left with the skeleton of the landscape.


Many people dislike this time of year, when the leaves have finished their splendid display and wither and fall.  I love the stark days of November myself.  It is an in between time.  Fall chores are done and the snow has not arrived and there is a quiet, hushed feeling.  Tomorrow night we turn the clocks back and we will well and truly enter the darkening time when even the smallest creature turns inward.


ps.  I saw the most amazing little golden ball of light in the tree this morning and I had to add this photograph of it.  It caught my eye and I have no idea how the light could be this color. The other raindrops were sparkling white as usual but this little spot of fire was a pulsating red/orange!  Quite captivating for a time.  It was very hard to photograph so not the best result but I had to share this with you.  I have never seen it before!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.