All Hallow's Eve

Dear Diary,

I had fun with this image.  This is the scarecrow parade in front of our Town Office building with a bit of embellishment.  People in my area really get into the Halloween spirit beginning with a children's costume parade through town last Sunday.  I need to photograph that event next year. 

I decorate a bit as well...I've added a couple of extra shots of my front porch.  But more than all the costumes and trick-or-treating, the celebration of All Hallow's Eve is a threshold time.  It ushers in the month of remembrance and gratitude.  This year, with all my ancestor study, it is also an especially poignant time for me.

Tonight I will do my special ritual of remembrance.  I will write small prayers and messages for those who are no longer with me and place them in the fire...to let the smoke carry them heavenward.  Using smoke to carry prayers is an ancient Taoist and Buddhist practice and one that seems especially appropriate today.   I will remember them and be thankful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.