Boo to you too!

 Dear Diary,

This is Rebecca and her friends at my local hardware store.  Her pet parents own the store and usually bring one or all of their dogs to work.  They hang out at the front of the store on their red sofas, greeting guests.  Rebecca was a rescue and she was very timid when she first came, running behind the counter if anyone got too close.  But now she lets me pat her...she's come a long way.

Halloween, Samhain in the Celtic tradition, is a threshold time.  We are half way through the darkening time and this coming weekend we will turn the clocks back.  It will be dark at 5 pm!  When I was teaching I would go to work in the dark and come home in the dark!

I don't get trick or treaters at my house being a bit out of the way but I will buy a small bag of candy anyway, just in case.  Of course, I have been saying that for 20 years!  My mother made my brother and I costumes one year and I was Peter Pan and my brother was a zebra.  We couldn't walk to neighbors houses, living out in the country as we did, so we got driven around but we did have a Halloween party at school and that was fun.  Good memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.