Roadside "art"

Dear Diary,

Hunting season has begun in Maine, not my favorite time I must admit.  I have taken to wearing my flame orange jacket, even in my own backyard.  The occasional gun shots I hear make my skin crawl.  At least here in Maine hunting is not allowed on Sundays, a day of reprieve from it all.

This scarecrow is right down the road from my house.  Every time I drive by it I wonder what the message is the owner is trying to give.  It is certainly a very unwelcoming sight.  My extra is another example of roadside art that I do find more appealing.  Some people seem to enjoy painting large rocks along the road and this frog is well done.  Just another country oddity I guess.

People everywhere seem to feel the need to express themselves, whether it is in the way they decorate their houses or in these more public forms of art. I remember when I taught Kindergarten, I use to tell my students about the first artists, prehistoric cave dwellers.  One day, on person picked up a burnt stick and drew on the wall, the first piece of art was created.  We've haven't stop since.  Of course I warned them not to do this at home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.