A Favorite View

Dear Diary,

This view is right down the street from me and it is a favorite of mine, especially at this time of year.  The leaves are "rusting out" as I like to say and the meadow in front is golden under the blue skies.  I keep hoping to see a moose but I never have.  They are petering out in this area unfortunately.

I wish I could report that the power has been restored but not yet.  I did get a propane delivery at 9pm last night so my old generator is chugging along quite fine.  I am really hoping that today I will be restored.  Some of the stores are open now so I will be able to buy food today, I was getting a bit low.  My wonderful new neighbors came over yesterday to help me rake up all the apples that fell in the storm.

This had to be done as I have an unfortunate new visitor to the seed bowls, a Norway rat!  Now I know who dug that hole in the front stone wall.  I've added a photo of him with poor Rosie hiding behind the tree.  She did challenge him though and chased him away, plucky girl!  In all my 22 years here, I have never seen one.  I hope he doesn't get into the basement!  That's all I need right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.