Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Autumn colours on a dull day

The autumn colours around here are peaking at the moment - that perfect moment when the trees are full of colour and are yet to drop all their leaves. I went to my hairdresser today, and there is a section along that way that always leaves me breathless at the vibrant beauty of the autumn colours. I have been driving that same route for fourteen years now (yes, I am very loyal to my hairdresser!) and each autumn the colours astound me. Unfortunately today was damp and dull, and without the sunlight to bring those colours alive I could not capture their true beauty. It has rained softly all day, and I am hoping the rain will be gentle enough not to accelerate the dropping of the leaves.

Last week at the LRPS assessment, many panels had beautiful images of Iceland in them (as one photographer turned around to me and said, what would photographers do without Iceland?). However, a comment made by one of the judges has resonated in my thoughts ever since - she said something to the effect of being in a beautiful place is not enough, you need to see evidence of the photographer at work in the scene that has been captured. That is so true, when we are face to face with a beautiful scene, it is all too easy to start snapping away as we rush to capture the overwhelming beauty, but we really should stop and think and work out the best angle and point of view from where to get the shot. Beautiful scenery or even a beautiful person makes it too easy for us, which is why one has to try a bit harder when confronted by beauty....which is opposite to what one would expect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.