Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Playing with portraits

A damp and soggy day - I have my camera group meeting next week and our assignment was portraits with one light source, so given the dull weather today it was perfect for being indoors playing with lighting. Thomas is my only available model, so it had to be him again! We took some shots with lighting, and I explained to him butterfly lighting and Rembrandt lighting, and then we took some with natural light from the window helped by a reflector, as can be seen here. (A smiling Thomas has been added to the extras in case you think he never smiles!)

I then got him to take some photos of me, as I wanted him to understand how exact the focusing is and how difficult it is to get it right when he keeps moving about while I am trying to take the photo. When I uploaded the photos to my computer...the shock of seeing images of me after working on those youthful images of him, with his smooth skin - let's just say it was my Halloween fright come early! The camera does not lie, and despite sliding the clarity slider all the way to the left, I cannot undo the ravages of time to my face!!

It is the first of the final rugby matches tonight. Thomas likes Bryan Habana and is so hoping he will score a try tonight so that he can beat Jonah Lomu's record of the most tries in a world cup tournament. I saw this comment on Facebook today " Rugby is a simple game - for eighty minutes, men run up and down a field, and in the end, the All Blacks win"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.