Naked Strength

I've spent the day with my grandson, firstly being a sounding board for his English course work ideas. Wish I was a bit more up on sports reporting. I never read the sports pages. :(

We then went for some driving practice, that was much more up my street and he did very well. Friday afternoon is not the ideal time to brush up on one's three point turns etc. though. :)

I briefly called in on Clayton Hill on the way to M&S. The oak that is clinging to life at the top fascinates me. I love its stark shape against the sky. As I was photographing it a tiny speck of yellow on the horizon turned into a full blown shepherds' delight sunset.

Live thy Life,
Young and old,
Like yon oak,
Bright in spring,
Living gold;

Summer-rich
Then; and then
Autumn-changed
Soberer-hued
Gold again.

All his leaves
Fall'n at length,
Look, he stands,
Trunk and bough
Naked strength.

Alfred Lord Tennyson  




 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.