Hallowe'en Axeman

I got a message from Ellie the plough-woman telling me that there was a ploughing match near Luton today. I went to see Ellie again and also in the hope of seeing horses ploughing. Unfortunately we have had a lot of rain and they didn't turn up, I think because the going was too heavy. It was certainly too heavy for me to take the S2000 onto the field. I watched amused as a Range Rover struggled. I think it was a bit of a Chelsea tractor. :)

I enjoyed watching the hedge laying. This is a technique dating back to Roman times for making hedges stock proof. It also rejuvenates the hedge, which becomes a haven for wildlife. There are so many different styles, not sure which axeman employed. I had him down as the winner. I loved his hazel stakes and his work was beautifully neat.

I don't usually add extras but Ellie's, straight as a die, furrows shone in the afternoon sunshine. Nice to meet her brother and grandad.  I drove home, roof down, in shirtsleeves. :)

PS I've just heard that Ellie won her class. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.