Dominating the village green at Brockham is the bonfire, ready for next Saturday's celebration of Guy Fawkes Night. They have been building it for weeks and there have been collection points at the roadside for bonfire contributions. Now there are signs up saying "no more bonfire material please" so they must feel it is large enough.
Brockham Bonfire is a huge occasion every year with visitors coming from far and wide. It makes a lot of money through bucket collections and car park charges.nthe car park charges pay for the following year's fireworks and the collections are for local charitable causes.
I called in at Brockham after dropping Normous at his golf club where he was going to watch the Rugby World Cup and then attend the Men's Dinner. I will get a phone call later to go and pick him up. I will earn a few Brownie points, but I'm not sure how I shall be able to spend them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.