The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Costume close-up

Backstage in wardrobe at the Cheltenham Everyman theatre. Third time in ten days I've been to this venue! I used to go often, about ten years ago, when my niece Christina (TML's daughter) lived locally. She now lives in Wellington, NZ, and has just about graduated as a costume designer, after many years of study. To visit the theatre this often in ten days is quite unprecedented, but I had received an email invitation to join a backstage tour. Who wouldn't jump at such an opportunity?

CleanSteve has written about the comprehensive tour, so there isn't much more to say apart from, if you're local, it's worth keeping an eye on the programme, and also that of the much smaller Studio theatre, tucked away at the rear of the building. I think I shall re-join as a Friend of the theatre. It's one of the waysthat such organisations can survive, as they don't make any profit from their rep shows. It's the in-house pantomime that is their life blood.

This costume is from the panto, I believe. I wish I'd asked about the little arm detail on it, though as a connoisseur of steampunk, it doesn't seem totally outlandish to me.

After the tour we went to a cafe on the promenade, and decided to return the following day for Sunday breakfast and the papers. Cheltenham is most elegant in the sunshine, with its dazzling white Regency architecture contrasting with the scarlet and orange of autumn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.